We Must Take Care of Each Other…

I am Tranyce
4 min readOct 10, 2020

--

I sit beside still waters often but this evening, I watch as rippled reflections of my surroundings flow beyond my reach.

I stare into the unknown often when I look up.

I appreciate the moment as it appears to be.

I recognize most emotions before they are replaced with purpose or pursuit.

I acknowledge my presence in the universe with each step through my garden.

I gather my thoughts, constructing them into sentences typed in a document.

I halt my instinct to jump to my destiny, without any prior process.

I nod to the beat of most smooth tracks, especially when Anita sings, “I’m giving you the best that I’ve got.”

I agree that I’ll keep on doing so, too.

But I am prompted to pose a few questions about life.

Where does “it” all end?

When did “it” all begin?

Who can place its very creation, whatever “it” is to each of us?

All I know is, I am here in the now.

I am all of who I’ve shown myself to be.

No lies, no hidden motives.

So, when you search my “About Me” you’ll find that,

I just am.

I am Tranyce.

(poem ends)

After what appears to be another long day, I find myself writing inside of my car, overlooking the East side of Nashville and the Cumberland River. I look into the distance as flashes of light from a thin tower seem to blink in sync with the current tune playing on my car’s stereo. I watch as a few white guys throw frisbees downhill, targeting an upward chained post I’m assuming is their goal. Over many acres, I see the spread of greenery surrounding concrete pavements made for trails. I am in Shelby Park.

My mask dangles from the rear-view mirror as a reminder that this is yet another COVID-19 filled evening. The potential of contraction isn’t taken lightly by exiting the car without it. I’ll be glad when it’s no longer needed. Whenever that day arrives, I’ll count my blessings even more. And I used to think people not washing their hands was devastating? This is a germaphobe’s worst nightmare!

In this moment, I am reminded of a line recited in a scene from an OWN television series called “Greenleaf” that my mom and I binge watched on Netflix recently. In it, the character named Grace visits her sister Faith’s grave. While she’s there, a young man walks over to her, dressed in all black and oddly resembling her troubled son. He stands before her and says, “Everything has an expiration date”, and walks away. I’d say this applies to COVID-19, too. I know we’ve all been affected by this virus in some way, whether it’s through our limited encounters with others or losing a loved one to the coronavirus. Wherever we fall on the scale of impact, we must remember that this too shall pass. Just as it came, it will go. I’m finally starting to see that the spiritual shift is occurring. Don’t let social media fool you into a life inhabitable or full of despair. I’ve witnessed many people sincerely trying to get it right, and I’ve seen idiots blatantly disrespect CDC guidelines. But what I’d like to see everyone set their focus on is their role in the timing of this expiration date for COVID-19. Let’s not extend it beyond its given date. Let it expire so we can all live life the way we want. I think that is the one thing we’ve all echoed through this entire experience, regardless of how we’ve individually prioritized safety. We want a life of normalcy. However, we must come to the realization that it will not be the normal to which we were accustomed before this virus. I don’t argue that it should be either. During this season, I hope we’ve built a better world that we can say finally considers all who live in it. But until next time, I encourage you to be you and do what satisfies your spirit…as long as it doesn’t endanger anyone else. We must take care of each other.

I am Tranyce.

--

--

I am Tranyce

Writer. Plant Mom. Content Creator that loves capturing conversations, events, nature and my travels. @iamtranyce on IG